1772 Ebenezer Road | Rock Hill, South Carolina 29732

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Gold is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 6 reviews, with an average score of 4.2 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.9/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (47)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-15

Excellent Lawyer! Mr. Gillen really listened to my problem and came through with a solution for my case. He gave great legal advice, and really fights hard for you. I am so thankful for Mr. Gillen. I highly recommend his services!

— Client 07/15/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-20 07:13:07

No description provided

— Peer 04/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-02-10

Mike was excellent in my case. We were able to win temporary custody after a series of issues that happened that resulted in me needing to go to court.. He was diligent and honest throughout the entire process, and guided me on what needed to be done leading up to court to give the best possible scenario.

— Client 02/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-02-03 10:57:29

No description provided

— Peer 02/03/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-29 09:06:41

No description provided

— Peer 01/29/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-29

Working with Mr. Gillen was a much needed relief given my experience with past lawyers. He is honest, truthful, and does work hard for you. It took some time for my case to settle, but he showed me that some good outcomes do take time. I highly recommend Mr. Gillen for your family causes!

— Client 01/29/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-28

I have hired Mr Gillen twice , and have been extremely pleased with results on both instances. Would highly recommend.

— Client 01/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-28

Mike has done an excellent job helping me get full custody of my youngest daughter. His experience and understanding of family law is hands down. He has given me as a single father great confidence in a complicated long distance custody battle where venue was in question. Mr. Gillen is responsive and is easy to communicate with by phone, text, and email. He was highly recommended to me and has lived up to those expectations. I trust Mr. Gillen and value his advise.

— Client 01/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-28

Mr. Gillen is extremely knowledgeable in the area of Family Law. He will be direct and to the point as he gives you the best advise there is. I have seen Mr. Gillen in action in the courtroom on several occasions and he has been fierce in every case. He will truly work for you and guide you to what is best for you and your family. His staff is nothing short of amazing. The office is beautiful and will immediately put you at ease in one of the most trying times you may face. I would absolutely recommend Mr. Gillen. Should the need ever rise again I would not hesitate to retain Mr. Gillen.

— Client 01/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-25

Max brings everything you want in a lawyer and then some. Aside from being a very nice guy, he is responsive, knowledgeable, and cuts through the BS. He can also call you out when you need to be but also will fight for you when the time comes. I have nothing but praise for him and feel honored to have had him as a person representing me and as a friend.

— Client 01/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-21 09:41:40

No description provided

— Peer 01/21/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-20 13:23:06

No description provided

— Peer 01/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-20 10:46:40

No description provided

— Peer 01/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-20 10:44:34

I have known Michael Gillen since college. Michael has a unique background which allows him to represent a broad spectrum of people effectively. With a long time focus on domestic law, Michael is knowledgeable and has a great deal of experience in the domestic arena. Michael has obtained excellent results for many clients. He is not afraid of the courtroom.

— Peer 01/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-20 10:35:13

No description provided

— Peer 01/20/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-16 08:48:59

Michael is not only a legal advocate for his clients, he fulfills all that is required as a Counselor at Law. Michael has a sincere and diligent approach to his cases. He is honorable, which is imperative in Family Court as your reputation among the bench is really all you have. He is curious about the ever-changing status of Family Law. I have never known him to be complacent in his practice, which is an invaluable trait.

— Peer 01/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-10

Max was extremely diligent and helped me through a very difficult divorce. He has continued to assist me quickly whenever a problem arises.

— Client 01/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-09

Needed a family law expert for a custody dispute that began in another State and had to be renegotiated. Max is knowledgeable and patient. He did not try to prolong the case or be confrontational, but instead helped us to reach a quick agreeable consensus. Max has solid values and genuinely wants to help people.

— Client 01/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-08 11:18:03

Based upon my personal and professional dealings with Mike, he is an outstanding attorney. I have known Mike for over 18 years and consider him to be a trusted colleague and friend. Mike represents his clients extremely well. He is very knowledgeable of substantive and procedural law, and has tremendous experience in the area of family law. Mike is well-respected by members of the judiciary, the Bar, and in his community. In short, Mike is an outstanding man and attorney.

— Peer 01/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-08 09:21:23

No description provided

— Peer 01/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-08 07:33:30

Michael zealously advocates for his client while maintaining integrity and civility.

— Peer 01/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-08 07:06:41

No description provided

— Peer 01/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-07 09:08:34

No description provided

— Peer 01/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-07 08:34:53

No description provided

— Peer 01/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-07

I have had the opportunity to work with several attorneys in the past, Max is far superior to all. He has that unique ability to quickly get to the core issue and in court he is a master at articulating ‘your’ story in a way that leveraged the law to your advantage, really inspiring to see in action. I would highly recommend Max. Bob G.

— Client 01/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-06

I have used Max twice and he has been wonderful. My issues needed prompt attention and needed to be resolved quickly. Max delivered on his promises. He is a man of his word.

— Client 01/06/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-06

I worked with Max a few years ago on my divorce. Max was easy to work with and I confident he was covering all angles for me. Max helped to make my process as smooth as possible and was always calm. He helped to keep me calm and confident. I have used him subsequently and have also recommended him to several friends. I would definitely recommend Max!

— Client 01/06/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-06

Max Pickelsimer has always gone above and beyond for our family. He was attentive to our desire to have all issues resolved quickly, took much care to ensure the children involved were heard and was always available when we called with questions. Family Court is not for the faint of heart. Retaining a respected and caring family court attorney (and their staff) is something every family dealing with the court system must have to ensure a resolution that's best for their situation. We are forever grateful to Mr. Pickelsimer and would highly recommend him to anyone dealing with the family court system. Couldn't have asked for better representation.

— Client 01/06/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-01-06

Working with Max was a great experience. This is a very hard time for most and I felt I could confide in him and trust him. Max is super flexible with busy schedules, kind, empathic and is a great listener. He gave me some really good advice and talked sense into me during a very difficult time. He kept me focused and gave me hope. He is professional and honest. I would highly recommend his legal services. He also has a great team.

— Client 01/06/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-05-23

Max and his team did an outstanding job on my case seeking custody for my daughter, they were very quick to answer and assist in any way possible regarding the case. I was really unsure if they would take my case being I was a father seeking majority custody, after consulting with Max he not only took on my case but he also did his very best and I now have custody of my daughter. I highly recommend him and his law office for any legal needs.

— Client 05/23/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-02-05

Mike’s entire office staff is friendly and prompt with answering questions. You are never left wondering where you are in the process. I hired this attorney for his independent thinking and no-nonsense attitude. He steered me in the correct direction regarding BOTH of my custody cases. I would highly recommend him.

— Client 02/05/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2014-12-03 13:47:08

Max is an excellent lawyer. He is diligent, personable, reasonable and a pleasure to work with. He subscribes to the highest ethical standards.

— Peer 12/03/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-20 13:00:32

Max is an accomplished attorney and he is willing to take on very difficult cases.

— Peer 11/20/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-19 07:17:12

No description provided

— Peer 11/19/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-19 07:16:42

Max is an outstanding lawyer and a great reflection upon our profession.

— Peer 11/19/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-11 07:21:38

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-11 06:09:28

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-11 03:08:59

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-11 02:23:28

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-11 02:16:05

Great lawyer. Highest ethical standards.

— Peer 11/11/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-04-12

My ex was the one actually paying this lawyer and yet they were there to help me all along the way as well to make the divorce as painless as possible as I could not afford a lawyer of my own. I was very impressed with them!!!

— Client 04/12/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2020-01-30 18:49:33

Mike has an excellent character. He truly cares about his clients.

— Peer 01/30/2020

4.8 / 5.0
2020-01-07 08:49:00

No description provided

— Peer 01/07/2020

4.6 / 5.0
2014-11-11 04:32:08

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

4.4 / 5.0
2020-02-04 13:09:38

Although your survey does not ask reviewers to rate integrity (a characteristic which I believe should be included, I wish to comment. I have found Mr. Gillen to be honest & have a lot of integrity. Unfortunately, those characteristics are becoming rarer among attorneys, as in Americans as a whole.

— Peer 02/04/2020

4.2 / 5.0
2014-11-11 05:13:42

No description provided

— Peer 11/11/2014

4.0 / 5.0
2020-01-10 04:35:31

I have worked with and against Mike for many years. He is an accomplished attorney and has high ethical standards.

— Peer 01/10/2020

Contact Us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

!
!
!